Meet the Authors

Click on the links below for more information


Deb has won many awards for her books, including a 2021 CBCA Notable for Bear in Space, the Maurice Saxby Award, US IBBY award for Outstanding International Book and Best Book in Translation, Malta. Deb has been presenting in schools and festivals for almost 20 years and loves getting kids excited about books, reading and writing.


Kathryn Apel writes poetry, verse novels, poetry and picture books. She has achieved acclaim as a verse novelist, dealing with emotive issues such as bullying, sibling rivalry, self-doubt, and the intricate balance of friendship.



Charlie Archbold is a YA and children’s author. Her debut novel Mallee Boys won the unpublished manuscript award at the Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature. In 2018 Mallee Boys was recognised as a CBCA Honour Book.


Charlotte is an Adelaide-based writer who worked as a civil engineer and physics teacher before rediscovering her love for children’s literature. Charlotte loves sharing her passion for science, creativity and stories with children of all ages.


Jess has written the Tales of Mr Walker series about a dog who comes to live in the fanciest hotel in town. Jess has also written the Little Paws series and the Keeper of the Crystals series; and is co-author of the hugely successful Bindi Wildlife Adventure series, the Kaboom Kid series and the RSPCA Animal Tales series.


Ian Boyd is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators and a committee member of the Children’s Book Council of Australia, SA Branch. Inspired by his role with the Children’s Book Council, he has developed a passion for the role of literacy in the complex learning area of sustainability.


Janeen Brian is an award-winning, children’s author and poet with over 110 books published in both trade and educational publishing. She enjoys writing picture books, junior fiction, poetry and novels.


Mark Carthew is an award winning Australian children’s author, poet, musician and educator well known for his books and series celebrating music, movement, drama, humour and wordplay.


Adam's first book, Wesley Booth, Super Sleuth was published by Scholastic in 2016. He has more up and coming titles and was recently the winner of the Text Prize for Children's Literature for The Extremely Weird Thing that Happened in Huggabie Falls.


Danielle Clode is a zoologist who writes about killer whales, dinosaurs, bushfires and megafauna. Her third children’s book on prehistoric animals, From Dinosaurs to Diprotodons, was published by Museum Victoria in August 2018.


Phil Cummings is an award winning author of over seventy books for children (from picture books to novels) in a career that has spanned thirty years. His work has been published in Australia, New Zealand, U.S, Japan, China, South Korea, Canada, U.K. and throughout Europe. He is a registered teacher and has been a Premier’s Reading Challenge Ambassador since its inception in 2004. Phil was also named National Literacy Champion in 2006.



Aleesah Darlison is an internationally published, award-winning Australian author of over 65 books for children. She is known for her books that champion the cause of animals and the environment and for her stories that empower children.


Mike has written many award-winning books since his first picture book Dial-a-Croc was published in Australia and overseas in 1991. He has also received the Federal Minister's Award for Outstanding Contribution to Improving Literacy, which recognised his work as an educator and a writer over an extended period of time. 


Mick Elliott is an author, illustrator, TV producer, scriptwriter, animator, reading ambassador, public speaker and mischief maker. In 2016, Hachette Australia published his hugely popular series THE TURNERS, a comedic fantasy for upper primary readers about a reluctant 13 year old shape-shifter. And in 2019, prepare to meet Mick's new character, Squidge Dibley.