Aleesah Darlison

Aleesah Darlison is an internationally published, award-winning Australian author of over 65 books for children. She is known for her books that champion the cause of animals and the environment and for her stories that empower children.

Aleesah has won or been shortlisted for many awards including the Book Excellence Awards, the Environment Award for Children’s Literature, the CBCA Awards, and the Speech Pathology Book of the Year Awards. In 2021, she was awarded an Australia Day honour from the Sunshine Coast Council.

Aleesah is the current Panel Chair and Judge for the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards Patricia Wrightson Prize and has served as a Director of the Writing NSW Kids & YA Festival. Aleesah’s titles include the League of Llamas Series, the Super Sloth Series, the Space Kids Series, the Endangered Animal Tales Series, Puggle’s Problem, Warambi, The Dream Bird, Little Good Wolf, and Running from the Tiger.

When Aleesah isn’t writing or dreaming up ideas for new stories, she can usually be found speaking at schools, libraries, and literary festivals promoting literacy and inspiring children to read. More details at:

Published works:

Endangered Animal Series, Penguin Random House Australia, 2021 - 2022

Space Kids Series, Big Sky Publishing, 2021 - 2022

League of Llamas Series, Penguin Random House Australia, 2021 - 2022

Courtney Little Series, Big Sky Publishing, 2021 - 2022

Stripes in the Forest: The Story of the Last Wild Thylacine, Big Sky Publishing, 2016

Puggle's Problem, Wombat Books, 2010

Warambi, Harper Collins/Working Title Press, 2011